Coastal and Marine Geography Specialty Group Business Meeting minutes AAG 2016 Annual Meeting New Orleans, LA - April 12, 2018

Minutes recorded by Brian Marks, COMA Secretary/Treasurer

28 persons were present at the meeting, which began at 7:10pm.

The 2017 business meeting minutes were not available for review or approval, as the secretary-treasurer was not present and no one took minutes. The treasure reported the 2017 balance was \$1,347.41 after all AAG'2017 expenses were paid.

Brian Marks gave the Secretary/Treasurer's report. COMA earned \$523 since the last Annual Meeting and spent \$149.99, leaving the group with a March 2018 balance of 1720.42. The projected expenses from the Annual Meeting are \$1082, leaving an estimated about \$640 remaining. After the 2019 Annual Meeting, the projection is for COMA to be out of money. Treasures Report for 2017-2018 was approved (R Daniels proposes, J. Rahn seconds).

Note – the budget decline was recognized by some members in attendance as expected and intended, as COMA had a large balance prior to 2013 and we've been intentionally spending it down, carefully, over the last several years.

There was a question as to how many members COMA currently has. No officers present had a definitive number; however, the number of members was 289 as of April 1, 2016.

The Web Editor (Rich Daniels) reported the website (www.aagcom.org) has add approximately 1000 visitors this year. Our Facebook site (https://www.facebook.com/Coastal-Marine-Geography-COMA-of-AAG-119130281434567) currently has 168 followers.

The Chair gave her report: At the specialty group chairs meeting, it was announced Doug Richardson (AAG Executive) is retiring. There's also discussion about what to do regarding no-shows in paper sessions: Should people wait to keep the session schedule intact? Or go ahead over their time? Directive is to WAIT.

The Chair stated that more student participation is needed in our paper competitions, and more cosponsored sessions were needed as well. Brian Marks was appointed to tend to the latter task for the 2019 meeting.

The R.J. Russell Award was announced, first reading a brief biography of R.J. Russell followed by the announcement of Dr. Joann Mossa (University of Florida) as 2018 awardee and a speech by Jean Ellis.

The 2018 Psuty Student Paper award went to Sean McGill. The two other student competitors received \$50 travel incentives. The 2018 Walker Illustrated Poster award went to George Marino.

Announcements: Doug Sherman was nominated by COMA and selected by the AAG to be an AAG Fellow.

New Business:

Board elections followed.

Secretary-Treasurer: Diane Horn.

Two board members: Brian Marks, Patrick Barrineau.

Student member: Peter Peterszkiewicz.

A proposal was made for raising COMA annual dues from \$1 to \$2/year for students and from \$5 to \$10 for regular members. The proposal passed. By-laws will be updated to reflect this change. This will become effective when a member renews their membership.

Further announcements:

The Merida conference on coastal studies, November 2018. NOAA GeoTools conference, February 2019

Deliverables: We need to request an email list for all current COMA members from the AAG. This would be used to send announcements/call for papers directly to the members.

Reiteration that COMA Board Members need to actively work to have their students apply for and compete in the Psuty and the Walker competitions and seek to sponsor/co-sponsor sessions at the next AAG meeting.

Meeting adjourned at 8:30 pm – all invited to meet at 9:00 pm The Ritz-Carlton to celebrate Dr. Mossa's award.